Greek National Higher Education System



According to the Framework Laws 4009/2011, 4076/2012, 3549/2007, 2916/2001, higher education consists of two parallel sectors: the University sector (Universities, Polytechnics, Fine Arts Schools, the Open University) and the Technological sector (Technological Education Institutions (T.E.I.) and the School of Pedagogic and Technological Education).

The same law regulates issues concerning governance of higher education along the general lines of increased participation, greater transparency, accountability and increased autonomy.


Entrance to the various Schools of the Universities (Panepistimio) and Technological Education Institutions (Technologiko Ekpaideideftiko Idryma – T.E.I.) depends on the general score obtained by Lyceum graduates on the Certificate, on the number of available places (numerus clausus) and on the candidates’ ranked preferences among schools and sections.


Students who successfully finish their studies in universities and T.E.I. are awarded a “Ptychio” (Bachelor). First cycle programmes last from four years for most fields to five years for engineering and certain other applied science fields and six years for medicine. Bachelor’s degree leads to employment or further study at the post-graduate level that includes the one year second cycle leading to the second degree, “Metaptychiako Diploma Eidikefsis” (MSc) and the third cycle leading to the doctorate degree, “Didaktoriko Diploma”.

The Law 3549/2007 referring to quality assurance in Higher Education, the Credit Transfer System and the Diploma Supplement defines the framework and criteria for evaluation of university departments and for certification of students degrees. These measures aim at promoting student mobility and contributing to the creation of a European Higher Education area.